::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Honda / Acura Cars > Civic/Del Sol
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 12-05-2002, 10:52 AM   #1
mellojoe

purchase

I'm looking for a used Civic, and I'm just trying to learn just as much as I can before I begin shopping.

I hear that I should stay away from the 96-98s because of the single cam setup. Do all 99's and later use a dual cam?

What other years should I stay away from?

What years (within the last 5 or 6) were great buys?

I'm not looking for a new car, as you may have guessed, so don't worry about suggesting an '02 or '03.

If you guys know of a place where I can find engine specs from the earlier 94 to present Civics (and Accords, too), let me know, too. I'm new to Honda.
Old 12-05-2002, 11:03 AM   #2
4jacks

I was under the impression that only the SI's were DOHC all the Ex's Hx's Lx's And Dx's are SOHC.

But anyway. Hondas are pretty darn reliable, try to have your mechanic to some checks on it before you purchase anything, it'll caost around $40 but it's worth it.

Good luck and let us know.

Happy Honda'ing
4jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 11:21 AM   #3
pdiggitydogg
Yahoo Watashi wa kattaze!

Yes only the Si is a DOHC the rest are still single cams. Hell I think all were sohc until the 99-00 Si even the old Si was a sohc.